About five people were feared dead after a boat capsized in Lagos on Wednesday evening

About five people were feared dead after a boat capsized in Lagos on Wednesday evening. An eyewitness said that the boat was coming from CMS to Ikorodu.

An eyewitness said that the boat was coming from CMS to Ikorodu. Bodies of the victim were brought to the jetty at Ipakodo and taken to the General Hospital in Ikorodu by the Lagos State Ambulance Service, LASAMBUS. The General Manager of the Lagos State Emergency Management Agency, LASEMA, Tiamiyu Adeshina, who confirmed the tragic news to Vanguard, said he could not immediately confirm the number of casualties.

Culled from Vanguardngr


News Update :Shagari, Nduanya emerge new NYCN president, Deputy

The National Youth Council of Nigeria (NYCN) has successfully elected a new National Executive Council (NEC) after a 6-day congress in Gombe.

In the keenly contested election, Sokoto State born, Comrade Bello Shagari, was elected as the new National President of the council, while Anambra State born Comrade Innocent Nduanya, was elected Deputy President.

Bello Shagari, new NYCN president Shagari polled 249 votes as against 234 polled by his opponent, AlMustapha Asuku Abdullahi. Before the commencement of the election proper, a popular presidential candidate from South-West region, Blessing Akinlosotu stepped down to galvanize votes and support for Shagari.

Akinlosotu then declared for the office of Secretary-General (vacant post) and was subsequently declared elected unopposed by the Electoral Committee Chairman, Comrade Aminu Lamir. The Congress tagged ‘NYCN Unity Congress Gombe 2018’ was declared open on July 19, 2018 at a briefing by Gombe State Commissioner of Youth Empowerment Malam Farouk Yarma.

While speaking at a press conference, Yarma commended the Executive Governor of Gombe State Dr Ibrahim Hassan Dankwambo for approving the hosting of the NYCN congress.

Also read


“I really commend the gesture of Gov. Dankwambo for the approval to host the elective congress of youth apex body in the Country,’’ he said.

The NYCN Board of Trustees Chairman, Dr Dickson Akoh, also thanked Dankwambo for his support.




The leaders and members of the United Progressive Party (UPP) in

Nigeria and in the diaspora most heartily welcome Hon. Tony Nwulu,
member House of Representatives representing Oshodi/Isolo Federal
Constituency in Lagos State into the UPP family.

Hon. Nwulu’s bold and pragmatic political initiative has opened the
door for more progressive politicians to embrace the only political
party among a motley crowd of 68 political parties that promotes a
revolutionary agenda and radical ideological inclination.

UPP is the only political party in Nigeria that has in its Manifesto
and the objective principles of its Constitution provisions for the
self-determination of all ethnic nationalities in Nigeria, the
restructuring of the Nigerian federation to reflect true federalism,
devolution of power, resource control, referendum, unconditional
release of prisoners of conscience, state police/community policing

Hon. Tony Nwulu, it will be recalled, successfully sponsored the Not
Too Young To Run bill, which, with the assent of President Buhari is
now an Act of the National Assembly. By this singular historic
accomplishment, Hon. Nwulu has proved that he possesses all the
attributes of the Tiger, which is the registered symbol of our great
party, the United Progressive Party (UPP). Hon. Nwulu is therefore in
a natural political habitat, where he will express his full political

UPP is a veritable platform for all Nigerian youths. We have a natural
tendency to encourage the youths of this country to pursue their
political aspirations on the UPP platform where they are assured of
maximum cooperation on a level playing field that is youth friendly,
transparent and credible.


BREAKING NEWS : Benue Governor, Ortom officially dumps APC, joins PDPa

Governor Samuel Ortom of Benue State has officially announced his resignation from the All Progressives Congress, APC His resignation was contained in a Statement sent to morningstarnaija.com reporters  by Chief Press Secretary, Tever Akase.

Also read


Ortom, according to Akasu, has now joined the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.

Stay tuned for more details……..

PDP 58 – 48 APC. How The Senate Stands After Tuesday’s Mass Defection

Mass Defection at the Senate on Tuesday has enthroned the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to majority control at the upper chamber of the National Assembly.

After the 2015 election, the All Progressives Congress (APC) ended the reign of PDP as the ruling party for the first time since 1999.

APC had 63 members in the Senate to become the majority, while PDP had 43.

However, Tuesday’s action has turned the table in the Senate, with APC now the opposition while PDP is now the majority party.

Also read


The latest defection saw bigwigs in the Senate such as Dino Melaye, Rabiu Kwankwaso, Lanre Tejuosho, Abdulazeez Nyako and Monsurat Sunmonu cross to the PDP.

Presently, PDP leads the Senate with 58 members while APC has 48.

Senator Victor Umeh remains the only member of All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) in the floor of the Senate.

Similarly, at the lower chamber, 33 APC members defected to PDP while four others defected to ADC. However, APC still maintains the majority in both the lower chamber, and the National Assembly as a whole.

This could change soon, though, if the defectors’ claim that more defections are underway is something more than a mere threat.

Culled from SaharaReporters

Mbappe, Hazard , 8 Others Shortlisted For FIFA Player Of The Year Award

FIFA, the world football governing body, have announced the Best Men’s Player award nominees for the 2017-2018 season, with France’s World Cup star Kylian Mbappe and Egypt’s Mohamed Salah being among those shortlisted.

The other players in the 10-man list are Cristiano Ronaldo, Leo Messi, Kevin De Bruyne, Antoine Griezmann, Eden Hazard, Harry Kane, Luka Modric and Raphael Varane.

The 19-year-old Mbappe displayed a string of impressive performances in France’s World Cup-winning campaign, becoming only the second teenager after Brazil’s Pele to score in a World Cup.

Salah, the top scorer in European club football last year, scored 44 goals for the Premier League side Liverpool in all competitions, and picked up player of the seasons honours in England.

The current African footballer of the year, Salah, would be the first player from the continent to win the FIFA prize since Liberian striker – and current president – George Weah in 1995.

Ronaldo, who guided Real Madrid to their third Champions League title in a row, won the award in 2017.

The awards ceremony is set to take place in London on September 24. FIFA said it would name a final list of three nominees in early September.

Football fans can vote for their preferred nominee on FIFA’s website.

Results are expected to be taken into consideration alongside the votes of national team coaches, captains and selected journalist from Fifa’s 211 member countries.

FIFA have also announced the nominees for the Coach of the Year award, with the likes of Zinedine Zidane, Pep Guardiola and Gareth Southgate all part of the list.

Source: Al Jazeera and News Agencies. Photo shows Mbappe.