PDP 58 – 48 APC. How The Senate Stands After Tuesday’s Mass Defection

Mass Defection at the Senate on Tuesday has enthroned the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to majority control at the upper chamber of the National Assembly.

After the 2015 election, the All Progressives Congress (APC) ended the reign of PDP as the ruling party for the first time since 1999.

APC had 63 members in the Senate to become the majority, while PDP had 43.

However, Tuesday’s action has turned the table in the Senate, with APC now the opposition while PDP is now the majority party.

Also read


The latest defection saw bigwigs in the Senate such as Dino Melaye, Rabiu Kwankwaso, Lanre Tejuosho, Abdulazeez Nyako and Monsurat Sunmonu cross to the PDP.

Presently, PDP leads the Senate with 58 members while APC has 48.

Senator Victor Umeh remains the only member of All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) in the floor of the Senate.

Similarly, at the lower chamber, 33 APC members defected to PDP while four others defected to ADC. However, APC still maintains the majority in both the lower chamber, and the National Assembly as a whole.

This could change soon, though, if the defectors’ claim that more defections are underway is something more than a mere threat.

Culled from SaharaReporters


Published by


I am Mbanugo Onyeka Nelson, a media analyst. Let's hit the globe with current news.

One thought on “PDP 58 – 48 APC. How The Senate Stands After Tuesday’s Mass Defection”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.