Breaking News :FIFA The Best Men’s Player of the Year award, Ronaldo, Modric & Salah Nominated

Cristiano Ronaldo, Luka Modric and Mohamed Salah have made the final three for FIFA’s The Best Men’s Player of the Year award.

Ronaldo and Modric both helped Real Madrid to Champions League glory prior to the former’s move to Juventus, with Salah scoring an incredible 44 goals in all competitions for Liverpool.

That means that there’s no place in the final three for Barcelona sensation Lionel Messi, despite his exploits in helping the Catalan giants win the Liga title last season.

FIFA’s The Best award is voted for by four groups, each with 25 per cent weight in the final vote: national team coaches, national team captains, high-profile journalists and football fans.

It broke away from the Ballon d’Or in 2016 and it will be the first time since 2006 that Messi has not been in the final three for FIFA’s award for best player of the season.

Ronaldo has been in the final three for every FIFA best player award except 2010, when it was a Barcelona one-two-three (Messi, Xavi, Andres Iniesta) for the first FIFA Ballon d’Or ceremony.

In FIFA’s Best Coach category, France’s Didier Deschamps, Croatia’s Zlatko Dalic and former Real Madrid coach Zinedine Zidane are the final three nominees.

The women’s best player award will be won by either Lyon’s Ada Hegerberg, Germany’s Dzsenifer Marozsan or Brazil’s Marta.

The award ceremony is being held in London on Monday September 24.

Culled from GOAL. COM


Published by

I am Mbanugo Onyeka Nelson, a media analyst. Let's hit the globe with current news.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.